When do you have priority mtg




















Once there are no more state-based actions to deal with or triggers to stack, the player finally receives priority. When a player casts a spell or activates an ability, that player will receive priority again afterwards.

When a player passes priority, the game checks state-based actions and triggers again before priority passes to the next player in turn order. A player must announce any mana in his or her mana pool when her or she passes priority. When all players pass in succession, the top object on the stack resolves, or the current step or phase ends if the stack was empty. Players can always add new spells or abilities to the stack if they have priority. Edit this Page. Edit source History Talk 0. Timing and Priority Unless a spell or ability is instructing a player to take an action, which player can take actions at any given time is determined by a system of priority.

The player with priority may cast spells, activate abilities, and take special actions. A player may cast a noninstant spell during their main phase any time they have priority and the stack is empty. A player may take other special actions during their main phase any time they have priority and the stack is empty.

Other kinds of abilities and actions are automatically generated or performed by the game rules, or are performed by players without receiving priority. See rule Turn-based actions also happen automatically when each step and phase ends; no player receives priority afterward. Even if a player is doing so, no player has priority while a spell or ability is resolving. Which player has priority is determined by the following rules: No player receives priority during the untap step.

Now, this is a lot of technical details. In most games of Magic , this is totally obfuscated and correctly replaced by just saying " Walking Corpse , go. I have a Runeclaw Bear. I attack. I have Titanic Growth in my hand, so I cast it! Take 4 more, my enemy! I gain priority with Titanic Growth.

But my opponent, grinning, takes this chance to tap a Mountain and cast Lightning Bolt on the poor Bear! I gain priority again. I pass. My opponent also passes. Bolt resolves and. Titanic Growth is still on the stack, but it won't resolve. The card "fizzles"—it's countered by the game rules because it no longer has a valid target. Sad times. The situation is the same: I'm attacking with the Bear. Except this time, I don't cast Titanic Growth.

My opponent takes the opportunity to cast Lightning Bolt before damage happens. I get priority back—and I cast Titanic Growth! Sometimes in situations like this, neither player will cast either spell for fear of the unfavorable situation happening. Remember, the last player to do something generally has the power.

Also, let this be a lesson on why it's dangerous to deal damage to attacking creatures when your opponent is representing combat tricks. But for more on that, go read " The Instances for Instants. Pretty much any spell you cast, non-mana activated ability you use, or triggered ability you play is going to use the stack in exactly the same way as described above.

Look for the colon. A triggered ability generally starts with "At," "When," or "Whenever. It is also important to note that once an ability is on the stack, it will happen. If I activate my Prodigal Pyromancer and you Lightning Bolt it in response, the ability is still going to deal 1 damage even though the Pyromancer is gone. Well, for one, static abilities don't use the stack.

Platinum Angel doesn't keep triggering over and over; its effect is just always true while it's on the battlefield. Initially casting Platinum Angel will still use the stack, though. Playing your land for the turn doesn't use the stack. You can just play it and nobody can respond.

Mana abilities don't use the stack. A mana ability is an activated ability that adds mana to your mana pool. There are rare exceptions to this, but let's ignore them for now. So, for example, tapping lands or Llanowar Elves for mana can't be responded to and doesn't use the stack.

Costs don't use the stack. If I cast Fling , you can't destroy the creature I want to sacrifice before I sacrifice it—that just happens. For example, with a Clone , once it resolves you can't see what creature it is copying and then decide to kill the creature.

Those are some of the big ones I commonly see. There are others yes, person over there who has been mouthing "morph" to me for the past three minutes, I see you , but for most games that's everything you need to know about what does and doesn't use the stack. So now that we've gone over how the stack actually works, what are some ways you can use the stack to your advantage?



0コメント

  • 1000 / 1000